Guest blog: How the EITC Helped Me

CamilleR. Camille Henry is a junior high school teacher who just finished a master’s program in clinical counseling. She is also the proud mother of a ten-year-old son. She will be speaking at NCTC’s EITC briefing at the U.S. Capitol Visitors Center on January 30th.

The EITC has proven to be quite a beneficial credit to my family. As a young single mother, the EITC has allowed me to continue my educational journey, career aspirations and, most importantly, provide for the needs of my family. I used this supplement as financial support for school and to register my son for camp while I worked a part-time job during the summer months. I was able to finish my associate’s and bachelor’s degrees with the support of this credit and fulfill my dream of becoming a teacher.

Through other positions that I have held, I have also seen how this credit helps those in my community who need it most. As a teacher I come in contact with many students and their families struggling financially, as they are in need of monetary support throughout the year.

As a Maryland CASH Fellow, I have had the opportunity to work with the Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) Program with the Community Action Agency of Montgomery County, MD. Everyday I see how the EITC uplifts and encourages the taxpayers that receive the credit. One woman I assisted was a recently separated single mother of two young girls going through many hardships in her life. I explained to her that she was receiving a refund and most of that refund would be from the EITC. At that moment she began to cry and express her joy and gratitude. She mentioned that she was going to use the credit to finally apply for her Nursing Licensure which she had previously been unable to afford. This credit alone was going to help raise her daughters and herself out of poverty. I could truly empathize with this woman because I felt that I had experienced the same hardships such as being a single mother and trying to “make ends meet” with the little money you have. I understood the burden that is lifted off of your shoulders when you have the means to cover expenses and provide. I know how the EITC helped me, but until that moment with this woman, I did not understand the meaningful impact this credit had on a person and their life.

About National Community Tax Coalition

National Community Tax Coalition (NCTC) is the nation's largest, most comprehensive membership organization for community-based organizations offering free tax and financial services to low-income working families.

Posted on January 24, 2014, in NCTC and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

